Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

For Immediate Release


TORONTO, October 12, 2011 ---- On Tuesday, October 18 from 10am to 11am North America’s favourite book festival, the International Festival of Authors (IFOA) (October 19 to 30, 2011), kicks into high gear with a pep rally complete with pom-poms and cheering. Taking place in the heart of Ryerson University campus, IFOA authors will be on site with contests and free books to jump-start the 32nd annual Festival.

Governor General’s Literary Award- and Charles Taylor Prize-nominated Elizabeth Abbott, bestselling author Lauren B. Davis, critically acclaimed Joe Dunthorne, Canada Reads finalist Brian Francis, award-winning investigative journalist Joshua Knelman, Governor General’s Literary Award-nominated poet Ruth Roach Pierson, and Scotiabank Giller Prize-winning Johanna Skibsrud will be on site for the event. Each author will have an opportunity to talk about their much-anticipated IFOA appearance between 10am and 11am at the intersection of Victoria and Gould Streets in downtown Toronto. IFOA staff will be handing out free books and ballots for the IFOA Golden Ticket – a prize pack which includes two tickets to the IFOA Welcome Party, an invitation-only party where the winners will have a chance to rub elbows with several Festival participants.

In order to celebrate our school spirit and in keeping with the pep rally theme, the IFOA is pleased to offer free tickets to youth 25 and under and to students with valid ID to all regularly priced events (subject to availability) as part of Harbourfront Centre’s CultureBreak programme. Tickets using this special offer can be reserved in person or by phone only. Youth and students must present their student or photo ID at the Harbourfront Centre Box Office to collect their tickets. Please note that some exceptions apply and tickets are subject to availability.

This year’s 12-day Festival features the who’s who of contemporary literature in events ranging from readings, interviews, round table discussions, book signings, and more. The IFOA lineup of more than 190 participants includes: CanLit icons Michael Ondaatje, Jane Urquhart, and Guy Vanderhaeghe; debut authors Stephen Kelman, Erin Morgenstern, Simon Toyne, and Sarah Winman; and international stars Russell Banks, Linda Grant, Bharati Mukherjee, Tom Perrotta, and Clay Shirky.

The IFOA would like to thank Ryerson University’s Faculty of Arts for the use of their space and the publishers who graciously donated books.

For more information about the IFOA and to purchase tickets, the public may call the Harbourfront Centre Box Office at 416-973-4000 or visit


About IFOA:
Each October, the IFOA presents a wide range of readings, round table discussions, onstage interviews, book signings and a number of special events featuring the most exciting authors in contemporary literature. Administered by Authors at Harbourfront Centre, this year’s 32nd annual IFOA takes place from October 19 to 30, 2011.

Print: Jennifer Asselin,, 416-973-4395
Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources