Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

For Immediate Release

International Visitors Programme announces 2011 participants and Canadian Editorial Fellowship

TORONTO, June 28, 2011 ----- Now in its fourth year, the International Visitors (IV) Programme, in association with Authors at Harbourfront Centre, is pleased to announce the participants for this year’s programme. New this year, a Canadian editor will be awarded an Editorial Fellowship and have the opportunity to be involved in all facets of the Programme. Inaugurated in 2008, the IV Programme invites publishing professionals from around the world to participate in five days of inter-industry dialogue with the goal of increasing opportunities for Canadian authors and publishers abroad. IV Programme participants benefit from a full schedule of publisher-hosted events and receptions, a mini rights-fair, an industry-focus panel, and attending a number of IFOA onstage events. This year’s IV Programme runs from October 23–27 as part of the International Festival of Authors (IFOA) (October 19–29, 2011).

“The International Visitors’ Programme has once again drawn some of the most interesting and influential members of the international publishing world to Toronto to share their ideas and insights about the future of publishing and to introduce them to the works of Canadian writers,” says Iris Tupholme, IV Programme Organizing Committee Chair. “In a few short years, the International Visitors Programme has established itself as an important part of the publishing year.”

Confirmed participants to date include: Ben Barnhart, Editor, Milkweed Editions (USA); Amy Einhorn, Publisher and Vice President, Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam (USA); Susan Hayes, Director, Literature, Australia Council for the Arts (Australia); Geoff Mulligan, Editor, The Clerkenwell Press/Profile Books (UK); Nick Pearson, Publishing Director, Fourth Estate (UK); Ros Ramsay, Literary Scout, Rosalind Ramsay Limited (UK); Mariana Rolier, Editor, LeYa Brazil (Brazil); John Sargent, CEO, Macmillan Publishers (USA); Elisabeth Schmitz, Vice President and Executive Editor, Grove/Atlantic (USA); and Gray Tan, President/Literary Agent, The Grayhawk Agency (Taiwan). About a half-dozen literary festival directors from Scotland to China will also be in attendance. Further guests are to be confirmed.

The IV Programme Organizing Committee contains representatives from a number of organizations within the Canadian literary community, including the IFOA. The main IV Programme Organizing Committee for 2011 is: Chair: Iris Tupholme, HarperCollins Canada; Jared Bland, House of Anansi Press; Yvonne Hunter, Penguin Group (Canada); Don Oravec, The Writers’ Trust of Canada; Craig Pyette, Random House of Canada; Lisa Rundle, HarperCollins Canada; Christine Saratsiotis, Authors at Harbourfront Centre; Geoffrey E. Taylor, Authors at Harbourfront Centre; Matt Williams, House of Anansi Press/Groundwood Books; and Julia Yu, Authors at Harbourfront Centre.

For more information about the IV Programme visit


MEDIA CONTACT: Jennifer Asselin:; 1 416-973-5836
Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources