Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

Event includes Toronto’s Poet Laureate Dionne Brand as judge

TORONTO, March 3, 2011 --- Authors at Harbourfront Centre (AUTHORS) is pleased to announce the 20 poets selected for this year’s Poetry NOW event taking place on March 30. A jury comprising Toronto’s Poet Laureate Dionne Brand, Authors at Harbourfront Centre Director Geoffrey Taylor and Artistic Associate Jen Tindall will select one author to win an invitation to read at the 32nd annual International Festival of Authors (October 19 to 29, 2011) and have their book advertised in NOW Magazine.

The 20 established and upcoming poets selected to grace the AUTHORS stage are: Gloria Alvernaz-Mulcahy, Gary Barwin, Jill Battson, Ronna Bloom, Heather Cadsby, Edward Carson, Ron Charach, Kildare Dobbs, Rocco de Giacomo, David A. Groulx, Aurian Haller, David Hickey, Inge Israel, Jim Johnstone, Kath MacLean, Nathaniel G. Moore, John Oughton, Ruth Roach Pierson, Souvankham Thammavongsa, and Zachariah Wells. This year’s event will be hosted by inaugural Poetry NOW winner Jacob McArthur Mooney.

For the third year, AUTHORS issued an open call for submissions from poets who have been published within the past five years and are currently in print with a trade publisher. AUTHORS accepted submissions for the event through each poet’s publishing representative until February 28, with selected participants notified through March 2. Each poet reads for up to five minutes and books will be for sale at the event. This event is presented in partnership with NOW Magazine.

Event date, time and location: Wednesday, March 30 at 7:30pm in the Brigantine Room, 235 Queens Quay West, Toronto.

Tickets: $10 to the general public, FREE for members, students, and youth 24 and under.

Authors at Harbourfront Centre weekly readings continue through June 2011. For more information and to purchase tickets, the public may visit or call the Harbourfront Centre Box Office at 416-973-4000.


Lindsay Gulin:; 416-973-4395

About Authors at Harbourfront Centre:
Since its inception in 1974, Authors at Harbourfront Centre has hosted over 7,500 authors from more than 100 countries, including 17 Nobel Laureates. Our season runs from September to June and includes the annual International Festival of Authors (IFOA) (October 19 to 29, 2011), including YoungIFOA, and the annual ALOUD: a Celebration for Young Readers at Forest of Reading® Festival of Trees™ (May 11 & 12, 2011).

About NOW Magazine:
Toronto's independent weekly – NOW Magazine – was launched Thursday, September 10, 1981, as the city's alternative voice. After starting with just five staff members, founding owner/operators Michael Hollett and Alice Klein have seen the weekly grow to become a key cultural and political voice in Toronto – and Canada – with more than 100 employees. NOW is published every Thursday (though available at key downtown locations and in street boxes Wednesday nights) and distributed at over 3,400 locations in the Greater Toronto Area.
Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources