Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

For Immediate Release

International Visitors Programme announces 2010 participants and increased funding

TORONTO, July 6, 2010 ----- The International Visitors (IV) Programme, in association with Authors at Harbourfront Centre, is delighted to announce details of its third annual programme. Inaugurated in 2008, the IV Programme invites publishing professionals from around the world to participate in five days of inter-industry dialogue with the goal of increasing opportunities for Canadian authors and publishers abroad. IV Programme participants benefit from a full schedule of publisher-hosted events and receptions, a mini rights-fair and an industry-focus panel, and attending a number of IFOA onstage events. This year’s IV Programme runs from October 24–28 as part of the International Festival of Authors (IFOA) (October 20–30, 2010).

“In just two years, the International Visitors' Programme has established itself as a valuable part of the publishing industry’s annual calendar,” says Iris Tupholme, IV Programme Organizing Committee Chair. “This is a valuable opportunity to showcase our Canadian writers to an impressive group of editors, publishers, scouts, agents and literary festival directors against the backdrop of one of the world’s most prestigious festivals.”

The IV Programme is also proud to announce that the programme is made possible with the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) on behalf of the Ministry of Culture. In 2010, increased funding from the OMDC allows for the continued support of bringing international publishing executives to Toronto to network with IV Programme participants and IFOA participants, including Ontario authors and publishers.

Confirmed participants to date include: Pascal Assathiany, Publisher, Éditions du Boréal (Canada); Nick Barley, Director, Edinburgh International Book Festival (Scotland); Maria Campbell, President, Maria B. Campbell Associates (USA); Judy Clain, Executive Editor, Little, Brown and Company (USA); George Gibson, Publishing Director, Bloomsbury USA; Maureen Kennelly, Programme Director, Cúirt International Literature Festival (Ireland); Geoffrey Kloske, Vice President and Publisher, Riverhead Books, Penguin Group (USA); Ziv Lewis, Foreign Rights Manager, Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir Publishing House Ltd. (Israel); Michael Morrison, President and Publisher, HarperCollins Publishers (USA); Ulrich Schreiber, Director, International Literature Festival Berlin (Germany); Shyam Selvadurai, Festival Curator, Galle Literary Festival (Sri Lanka); Cindy Spiegel, Senior Vice President and Publisher, Spiegel & Grau, Random House Inc. (USA). Further guests are to be confirmed.

The IV Programme Organizing Committee contains representatives from a number of organizations within the Canadian literary community, including the IFOA. The main IV Programme Organizing Committee for 2010 is: Chair: Iris Tupholme, HarperCollins Canada; Jared Bland, The Walrus; Denise Bukowski, The Bukowski Agency; Anne Collins, Random House of Canada; Yvonne Hunter, Penguin Group (Canada); Hannah Lan, Authors at Harbourfront Centre; Don Oravec, The Writers’ Trust of Canada; Lisa Rundle, Consultant; Christine Saratsiotis, Authors at Harbourfront Centre; Geoffrey E. Taylor, Authors at Harbourfront Centre; and Matt Williams, House of Anansi Press/Groundwood Books. In addition, Kim McArthur, of McArthur and Company, is Chair of IV Programme Ontario Publishers’ Special Events.

For more information about the IV Programme visit


MEDIA CONTACT: Lindsay Gulin:; 1 416-973-4395
Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources