Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

Authors at Harbourfront Centre Announces
Participation in 25th Anniversary of Cúirt International Festival of Literature

TORONTO, March 18, 2010 --- Authors at Harbourfront Centre (AUTHORS) is proud to announce our collaboration with the internationally recognized Cúirt International Festival of Literature in Galway, Ireland.

Celebrating its 25th anniversary, the festival takes place April 20 to 25. During this time, the International Festival of Authors partners with the festival to present four Canadian authors.

Dionne Brand, Lawrence Hill, Helen Humphreys and Kate Pullinger will take part in a reading introduced by the CBC’s Eleanor Wachtel. The festival will also host a roundtable discussion on publishing in Canada and Ireland titled “Publishing in Canada: What can we learn?”

“We are delighted to participate in such a prestigious Irish Festival showcasing an array of literary talent,” said Geoffrey Taylor, Director, Authors at Harbourfront Centre.

The Cúirt combines poetry, prose, memoir, debate and film with many of the world’s most accomplished writers visiting Galway to read from their work. Featuring both established writers and emerging talent, the program appeals to a variety of audiences.

Other writers attending Cúirt this year include Colum McCann, Ian Rankin, Mary Gaitskill, Roddy Doyle, Enrique Juncosa, Tessa Hadley, Kevin Barry, and Ian Jack.

For more information about our involvement please visit


Jennifer Asselin:; 416-973-5836
Lindsay Gulin:; 416-973-4395

About Authors at Harbourfront Centre:
Since its inception in 1974, Authors at Harbourfront Centre has hosted over 5,000 authors from more than 100 countries, including 17 Nobel Laureates. Our season runs from September to June and includes the annual International Festival of Authors (IFOA) (October 20–30, 2010), including YoungIFOA, and the annual ALOUD: a Celebration for Young Readers at Forest of Reading® Festival of Trees™ (May 12–13, 2010).

Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources