Media Release

ARCHIVE: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | All Media Resources

For Immediate Release
Contact: Lindsey Love 416.973.4147;


Toronto, August 31, 2006---International Readings at Harbourfront Centre is ecstatic to announce the full line-up of famous and soon-to-be famous writers set to appear during the International Festival of Authors (IFOA) running in Toronto from October 18-28, 2006.

At this year’s IFOA almost 100 writers will read and discuss their recently released and soon-to-be released works, many of which are already dazzling readers the world over and creating immense critical buzz, including 2006 Man Booker Prize for Fiction nominees Kiran Desai, Jon McGregor, Claire Messud, James Robertson, and Sarah Waters; 2006 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize winner Kate Grenville; and 2006 Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-fiction winner J.B. MacKinnon.

The IFOA spotlight also shines on young up-and-comers including Nell Freudenberger who’s first novel, The Dissident, just received a fawning review from; A History of Love author Nicole Krauss; Marisha Pessl, who’s Special Topics in Calamity Physics has just hit the New York Times bestseller list; Gautam Malkani, the thirty-year-old journalist at the Financial Times author of the enormously popular Londonstani; and Tom McCarthy, whose breakout novel, Remainder, has become a literary sensation almost solely by word of mouth.

Also sure to leave an impression on IFOA audiences this fall are a slew of the world’s best crime and mystery writers, including Michael Connelly (Echo Park); Michael Cox (The Meaning of Night); Åsa Larsson (Sun Storm); Louise Welsh (The Bullet Trick); and Andrew Taylor (A Stain on Silence).

Other IFOA participants include Margaret Atwood, Randy Boyagoda, Mark Z. Danielewski, Damon Galgut, Ann-Marie MacDonald, Ami McKay, Don McKellar, Farley Mowat, Cynthia Ozick, Ralph Steadman, Gay Talese, Michel Tremblay, and Pamela Wallin.

A full-list of confirmed participants follows below. Also see our soon-to-be revamped website at and our blog at for more IFOA information.

Tickets to all events go on sale on September 5, 2006. Tickets for most events cost $15 for non-members, $12 for members, and are free to students with valid ID. Some exceptions for specific events apply.

Since its inception in 1974, International Readings has hosted more than 5,000 authors from 100 countries, including fourteen Nobel Laureates. Our season includes International Readings, the annual International Festival of Authors (October 18 - 28, 2006), and the annual ALOUD: a Celebration for Young Readers (February 13 - 17, 2007).


Caroline Adderson
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Chris Adrian
Pierre Assouline
Margaret Atwood
Anita Rau Badami
Louis Bayard
Yves Beauchemin
Mark Billingham
Giles Blunt
Dennis Bock
Randy Boyagoda
Gianrico Carofiglio
Clifford Chase
Wayson Choy
Adrienne Clarkson
Michael Collins
Michael Connelly
Michael Cox
Yasmin Crowther
Stig Dalager
Mark Z. Danielewski
Kiran Desai
Robert Drewe
Philippe Dupuy and Charles Berberian
Deborah Eisenberg
Bernice Eisenstein
Janet Fitch
Nell Freudenberger
Damon Galgut
David Gibbins
Charlotte Gray
Kate Grenville
Rawi Hage
Jane Hamilton
Alon Hilu
Simon Ings
Stephanie Johnson
Wayne Johnston
Edward P. Jones
Thomas King
Ryan Knighton
Nicole Krauss
Åsa Larsson
J.B. MacKinnon.
Gautam Malkani
Alberto Manguel
Patrick McCabe
Colum McCann
Tom McCarthy
Jon McGregor
Ami McKay
Claire Messud
Farley Mowat
Azar Nafisi
Elizabeth Noble
Cynthia Ozick
T. Jefferson Parker
Louise Penny
Marisha Pessl
Jodi Picoult
Noah Richler
James Robertson
Eden Robinson
Wole Soyinka
Ralph Steadman
Mark Strand
Rosemary Sullivan
Gay Talese
Andrew Taylor
Timothy Taylor
Madeleine Thien
Miriam Toews
Michel Tremblay
M.G. Vassanji
Sarah Waters
Louise Welsh
Colson Whitehead
Bruce Whiteman
Meg Wolitzer

Interviewers, Moderators, Hosts

Jason Anderson
Nathalie Atkinson
Catherine Belyea
Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall
Rebecca Caldwell
Richard Clewes
Susan G. Cole
Richard Crouse
Jonathan Safran Foer
Brian Francis
Lisa Gabriele
Jian Ghomeshi
James Grainger
Michael Holmes
Ibi Kaslik
Andrew Kaufman
Ann-Marie MacDonald
Sandra Martin
Don McKellar
Ben McNally
Seamus O’Regan
Paul Quarrington
John Van Driel
Antanas Sileika
Adam Sol
Ania Szado
Eleanor Wachtel
Pamela Wallin
Derek Weiler

YoungIFOA, School Programming

Julie Burtinshaw
Olof & Lena Landström
Val Ross
Teresa Toten
Eugene Trivizas
Sarah Withrow

YoungIFOA and Salon du Livre Youth Workshops

Annie Groovie
Michèle Laframboise
Daniel Marchildon

Where you are:   Home / Who We Are / Media Resources